The Serpent’s Shadow, by Rick Riordan

I haven’t reviewed every Rick Riordan book I’ve read; I’ve talked about the original Percy Jackson novel and also about The Lost Hero, the first book of Riordan’s second series (the first series deals with ancient Greek gods and demigods in the modern world, the second with the gods of Rome). However I have read everything Riordan’s published in these series as well as his “Kane Chronicles,” a series about a teenaged brother and sister who rediscover the gods of ancient Egypt, of which¬†The Serpent’s Shadow is the third and final book. Emma and Chris both enjoyed the first series; Chris kind of lost interest after that — he’s been into more realistic fiction lately — but Emma and I have continued reading Riordan.

I enjoy the breezy tone of the Kane Chronicles very much, and the interplay between the bickering brother-and-sister narrators, who often remind me of my own two children! And, just as the earlier series did for the gods of Greece and Rome, this trilogy gives readers a good introduction to the mythology of ancient Egypt. Fair warning to conservative Christian parents who are uncomfortable with their kids reading about pagan gods: you will probably like this series even less than the others, since the form of ancient Egyptian magic that Carter and Sadie Kane and their friends practice includes having humans serve as hosts for various gods and allowing the gods to speak and act through them.

For readers who don’t share those concerns and would just like their kids to enjoy a good action/adventure story with a little painless learning about ancient cultures, this is a great series that wraps up neatly in three books. Emma and I have been speculating on what Rick Riordan will do next, and we’re convinced Norse gods are coming soon … wonder if we’re right?

4 Comments

Filed under Children's, Fiction -- fantasy, Young Adult

4 responses to “The Serpent’s Shadow, by Rick Riordan

  1. oh boy, I’m sure not very excited to hear about being possessed and channeling ancient gods… but, whatever, my son enjoyed reading these. He was just telling me today that he was a bit disappointed about this book.

  2. Yeah, I think different parents (and different kids) will have different reactions to it. I could definitely see some parents being less comfortable with these than with the Greek/Roman ones, because the relationship between the god-characters and the humans is definitely more intense in the Egyptian books.

  3. L

    I’m re-reading your posts on Riordan and I have a question. Did your kids ever read Christopher Paolini? I saw his books in the library when my son was checking out Riordan’s books and I found it fascinating that he started writing as a 15-16 year old and became super famous! I thought I’d ask you if you knew his work.

Leave a Reply

