Ysabel, by Guy Gavriel Kay

For my first plunge back into fiction after Lent, I could not do better than read the newest book by my favourite fantasy author.  I was first introduced to Guy Gavriel Kay through reading his Fionavar trilogy back in the 80s — classic high fantasy with characters from our world drawn into an epic conflict in a fairy-tale world where the archetypes of all our myths and legends live and breathe. 

His later novels took a different direction, which I liked even better — vividly drawn fantasy worlds based on places and periods in our own world’s history, but with fantasy “twists” thrown in.  My favourites of these later novels include Tigana and The Lions of Al-Rassan, but they’re all great.

Ysabel takes Kay down a completely different path.  First, though I haven’t seen it marketed as a young adult novel, it certainly seems more geared to that readership than his previous novels which were clearly “adult.”  The teenage protagonist, the lack of spicy sex scenes common in Kay’s other novels, and the single main plot rather than the usual complex tapestry of interwoven subplots, all suggest that this book could more easily be enjoyed by teen readers than most of Kay’s other work.  That doesn’t mean it’s not enjoyable for an adult reader, although I missed some of the complexity and surprises that I’ve come to rely on in GGK’s writing.

Another difference is that Ysabel takes place entirely in our world — twenty-first century Provence, to be specific.  The “fantasy” element comes in when characters from the past — two men and a woman locked in an eternal love triangle that they are fated to repeat in different incarnations throughout the ages — meet up with Ned, the fifteen-year-old Canadian boy who is visiting France with his photographer father.The plot is a page-turner and the characters are enjoyable, although, as I said, I missed the complexity and depth of some of Kay’s earlier work.  He has used the device of the lovers eternally doomed to play out their love triangle throughout history — before, with Arthur, Lancelot and Guinevere in Fionavar.  The problem here is that he doesn’t (in my opinion) do an adequate job of convincing the reader that these three lovers are important and their problems siginificant.  They matter to Ned and his family and friends only because one member of Ned’s father’s staff has unfortunately gotten entangled in the triangle — without that complication, there’d be no larger significance for the world.  Should all fantasy novels involve world-threatening outcomes? Perhaps not.

So Ysabel is enjoyable, but a little flat in places — however, it has one asset that outweighs any shortcomings the book might have.  Like many readers who enjoyed The Fionavar Tapestry, I was tormented at the end by wondering what happened after two of the five human characters returned to their own world.  How did they get on with their lives after what they’d seen and done? How did they explain the absence of the three people who didn’t return?

Ysabel doesn’t exactly answer all those questions, but as Kay’s first novel set back in our world, it does pick up some of the character threads that were dropped twenty-five years earlier at the end of Fionavar, and that alone made it worth reading for me.

It’s always worthwhile for authors to try new things, and I can see why writers don’t want to get stuck in a rut of always writing the same old thing, but I would like to see Kay go back to books like The Sarantine Mosaic, Tigana, or The Lions of Al-Rassan.  A sequel to The Last Light of the Sun, maybe?

Advertisements

3 Comments

Filed under Canadian author, Fiction -- fantasy

3 responses to “Ysabel, by Guy Gavriel Kay

  1. This actually makes me want to read The Fionavar Tapestry again. It’s been over a decade since I last read it, so I remember little about it except that I loved it.

    Still, I’m not sure I’d want to read Ysabel without first reading Fionovar if there are character threads to be tied up, since I don’t remember the characters or the plot of the earlier novel (except that the Arthur myth was woven through it).

  2. Jamie, wasn’t it you that took the U of T class where GGK visited and spoke to the class, and someone asked him what happened to the characters from Fionavar after they went back home, and he said he really didn’t know? That’s bothered me for years — I felt he SHOULD know, even if he wasn’t going to write about it. So reading this has really put that problem to rest for me.

    Definitely time for a reread of Fionavar, I think!

  3. Dwayne

    I could not agree more Trudy with your review. I of course enjoyed the book as I have every Kay book, but it was missing that complexity that I have come to enjoy. His other books just seem to be more intertwined where characters are concerned and things that seem not to matter come back later to make your mouth drop open. It was great though bringing back Kim and Dave. I would have read it just for that.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s