Contest Winners!!

Thanks, everyone, for entering my fabulous New Year’s Book Giveaway contest. Apparently, from what people have told me, this was a hard contest. It seemed so easy to me that I was worried about it being too easy … but I realize now, that’s because I already know what all the books on my shelf are!!

Anyway, I know that everyone who entered, especially the winners, worked really hard. So hard, in fact, that I had to award six prizes instead of five. Only a couple of people actually got all 15 correct, but many others came close, and there was a tie for 5th place so I just decided to award two prizes. I won’t tell you how many of the winners used the words “obsessive” or “compulsive” to describe themselves.

And now … the winners …

Congratulations to Inkslinger, first to submit a winning entry, who receives a copy of Jude Morgan’s Passion.

Katrina gets a copy of Cloud of Bone by Bernice Morgan

Yaroslav gets a copy of Shane Claiborne’s The Irresistible Revolution sent all the way to Russia!!

Sue wins a copy of Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris.

Samantha is the proud winner of A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

And congrats to Julia, who hasn’t told me yet what she’d like for her prize … let me know!!


Thanks to everyone who entered, even if you didn’t win … it was great fun to hear from so many blog readers, especially those I’d never “met” before. Honourable mention goes to Jamie who didn’t get enough right to qualify for the prize but who had the most interesting method — extrapolating from what he knows of me and my reading history which books ought to be on my shelf (and yes, all those guesses were correct).

Now, speaking of “obsessive” and “compulsive,” somebody wanted me to give the complete and correct list of what actually IS on the bookshelf, so here goes:

Breathing Space, by Heidi Neumark

The Ragamuffin Gospel, by Brennan Manning

Soul Survivor, by Philip Yancey

Practicing Resurrection, by Nora Gallagher

Traveling Mercies, by Anne Lamott (on the Compulsive Overreader header, this is not on the shelf but in my hands)

Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott

Blue Like Jazz, by Donald Miller

Next … a book with a white spine, can’t pick it out. Might be The Irrational Season, by Madeline L’Engle

Gaudy Night, by Dorothy Sayers

Mindy, by June Strong

Till We Have Faces, by C.S. Lewis

The Last Convertible, by Anton Myrer

Emma Who Saved My Life, by Wilton Barnhardt

The Diviners, by Margaret Laurence

Tigana, by Guy Gavriel Kay

The Fragrance of Sweet-Grass, by Elizabeth Epperly

The Poems of Richard Wilbur

Graven Images, by Audrey Thomas

Tattycoram, by Audrey Thomas

The Wild Blue Yonder, by Audrey Thomas

The Life of Margaret Laurence, by James King

True Notebooks, by Mark Salzman

Jonathan Swift, by Victoria Glendinning

A Beautiful Mind, by Sylvia Nasar

Two-Part Invention, by Madeline L’Engle

Next is the section of books by me. Right in the middle of this section is my book Connecting. Apparently there are a lot of books called Connecting because people made several interesting guesses about the author of this one.

Waiting for Time and The Topography of Love by Bernice Morgan (my aunt!) … my copy of Random Passage must have been at work.

The Stone of the Stars and Empire of the Stars by Alison Baird (my cousin!)

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Gospel, by Wilton Barnhardt

The Autobiography of Henry VIII, by Margaret George

That’s it — two of the many, many bookshelves in my house. Winners, look for prizes in your mailbox soon. Non-winners, thanks for playing. Everyone else, keep your eyes open for my next amazing contest!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Contest Winners!!

  1. Sue A.

    Thanks for the list! (And of course the book!)
    Now speaking of “obsessive” and “compulsive,” I think you missed one — Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman

    And I have to say I’m impressed to hear that there are three great writers in the family!

  2. Yaroslav Paliy

    I’m more “compulsive” than Sue because I mentioned the missing Sharon Penman’s book at 6.28 am (can be easily verified on Hypergraffiti blog). Joke! The theme of “compulsiveness” is very relevant and makes a lot of fun for many. All the best to all! Best regards from Russia!

  3. Thanks, Sue and Yaroslav … actually I missed another: Cry the Beloved Country, by Alan Paton.

  4. I’m glad you listed all the books. Fascinating choices. Some I dearly love, too (Till We Have Faces, for example), and others I am now very interested in trying out.

    I’d like to thank you again for such a fun, generous contest with which to start the new year. So perfect, really, for booklovers. Oh, and thanks in particular for the book that is winging its way towards me!

Leave a Reply

