The Language of Bees, by Laurie R. King

The Language of Bees is another well-written, gripping, excellent offering in the Sherlock Holmes/Mary Russell series (if you’re not familiar with the series, I reviewed the first book a few years ago and have been picking them up when I get a chance ever since).  This one features the son Holmes never knew he had, who reappears in his life to ask for Holmes’ help in solving the disappearance of two missing persons.

Holmes and Russell do a lot of investigating separately in this novel, although every time they do end up together comparing notes it’s a lot of fun. I have no problem with Mary Russell, the narrator, as the main investigator, though, because I find her quite strong enough to carry the story on her own.  I did not understand why, early in the novel, she spent so much time trying to figure out a mundane puzzle about Holmes’ beehives — the bee story didn’t connect to the main plot at all, so I’m assuming there was an important thematic connection that was too subtle for me.  On the other hand, although some aspects of the mystery are resolved in this book, it ends with the words “To Be Continued” and a number of loose ends left untied … so there’s obviously more to be revealed in the next volume of the series. Which I will definitely be reading!!

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction -- mystery

2 responses to “The Language of Bees, by Laurie R. King

  1. Bridget

    I loved this book and can’t wait for the next,
    “The God of the Hive.” to come out this coming April. Ms. King can weave an intricate tale with such a deft hand, and frankly, I loved the juxtaposition of the rather lazy pace in the beginning to the frantic and thrilling second 1/2 of the book.

    The ending left me panting to know what happens next and isn’t that what a book should do? I know I’ll be lined up to grab my copy (rather whimsically Ms. King is referring to the book by the acronym GOTH) the day it is released.

  2. These books are also amongst my favorites!

Leave a Reply

