A Thousand Mornings, by Mary Oliver

thousandmorningsMy other goal this year is to read more poetry. Any poetry, apart from what I teach my students in class. It’s been far too long since I’ve read poetry and I think one of the essential problems is that I don’t really know how to approach a book of poetry. I’m used to sitting down with novels and memoirs and blowing through them in a day or two. When I last decided to read poetry, a few years ago, I borrowed a couple of books of poetry and just stared at them, not sure how to read them.

This time I started modestly, picking up a single book of poetry. I’d read a few Mary Oliver poems in isolation and decided to try her new book, A Thousand Mornings, reading a few poems at a time. This seemed to work. The poems are beautiful, mostly nature poems, and the language really glows. That’s the best I can do — I don’t really know how to review poetry, either. I’m just going to say that this is a beautiful collection of poems, and if you like poetry, you should check it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

