Fool’s Quest, by Robin Hobb

foolsquestI don’t know if I need to get into detail on how amazingly good this book is: perhaps you just need to refer to my review of Fool’s Assassin from last summer to get a sense of what I’m talking about. Let’s just say that in the couple of days before Fool’s Quest was released I re-read Fool’s Assassin so all its events would be fresh in my mind, then spent the next couple of days devouring Fool’s Quest as soon as it downloaded to my Kobo. Immersed back in the world of the Six Duchies, I followed the adventures of FitzChivalry Farseer, finally reunited with his beloved Fool, the friend he thought he’d never see again. But every gain has a loss: the same incident that brought a broken and dying Fool back to Fitz’s side also robbed him of his beloved nine-year-old daughter Bee, and now Fitz has to decide how best get Bee back — or to get revenge, if saving her is not possible.

The worst thing about this book was knowing I’ll have to wait at least another year to find out how the story ends. The best thing about this book was everything else.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction -- fantasy

Leave a Reply

